Action Alert: Stop HR 620

Here is an action alert from Access Living Director of Advocacy, Amber Smock. The alert calls on advocates to stop HR 620, with is a threat to the civil rights of people with disabilities. The legislation would dismantle the Americans with Disabilities Act as a tool to enforce accessibility.

Dear Access Living friends and allies,
Tomorrow morning, the Judiciary Committee of the U.S. House will meet to vote on H.R. 620, the ADA Education and Reform Act of 2017. H.R. 620 is a terrible bill that would weaken the protections afforded people with disabilities under the Americans with Disabilities Act. This would be a major setback for our community!  It would create a scenario where we basically have to get permission to enter places of public business, just because we have disabilities.
How can you help? We need people to contact House Judiciary Committee members, listed below, and urge them to vote NO on this appalling bill---but if you live in Illinois, we need you to CALL the Illinois members to ask them to vote no on HR 620. The phone numbers for the Illinois people are listed with their names. We need ALL of you to use this quick link to send a message to your members of Congress, because after the committee votes, the bill will move to the full House. Members need to be ready to vote no.  And last, we need you to add your name to this petition opposing HR 620 .
Having just passed the 27th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, this bill is simply unacceptable. Please contact these Representatives today and share this alert!
For more information on H.R. 620,
see this link .
House Judiciary Committee Members (
a full list of contact info for these members is at this link )
•             Bob Goodlatte, Chair (VA)
•             Jim Sensenbrenner (WI)
•             Lamar Smith (TX)
•             Steve Chabot (OH)
•             Darrell Issa (CA)
•             Steve King (IA)
•             Trent Franks (AZ)
•             Louie Gohmert (TX)
•             Jim Jordan (OH)
•             Ted Poe (TX) * Bill sponsor
•             Tom Marino (PA)
•             Trey Gowdy (SC)
•             Raul Labrador (ID)
•             Blake Farenthold (TX)
•             Doug Collins (GA)
•             Ron DeSantis (FL)
•             Ken Buck (CO)
•             John Ratcliffe (TX)
•             Martha Roby (AL)
•             Matt Gaetz (FL)
•             Mike Johnson (LA)
•             Andy Biggs (AZ)
•             John Rutherford (FL)
•             Karen Handel (GA)
•             John Conyers, Ranking Member (MI)
•             Jerry Nadler (NY)
•             Zoe Lofgren (CA)
•             Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
•             Steve Cohen (TN)
•             Hank Johnson, Jr. (GA)
•             Ted Deutch (FL)
•             Luis Gutierrez (IL) 202-225-8203
•             Karen Bass (CA)
•             Cedric Richmond (LA)
•             Hakeem Jeffries (NY)
•             David Cicilline (RI)
•             Eric Swalwell (CA)
•             Ted Lieu (CA)
•             Jamie Raskin (MD)
•             Pramila Jayapal (WA)
•             Brad Schneider (IL)  202-225-4835