More action steps on closure of Murray Developmental Center

This is another note from Cheryl Jansen of Equip for Equality. The note urges community members to support closure of the Murray Developmental Center. Access Living, like Equip Equality, supports closure of Murray.

Here is the note:

The Commission on Government Forecasting and Accountability (COGFA) will meet on May 1, 2012, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 400 of the Capitol Building in Springfield, IL to vote on the proposed closure of the Warren G. Murray Developmental Center.

Equip for Equality supports the Governor's decision to close Murray DC. For years, Illinois has lagged behind other states in moving toward community care for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Thirteen other states (Alabama, Arkansas, Hawaii, Indiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and West Virginia) and the District of Columbia have closed all of their state–run institutions and are now successfully serving former residents in the community.

The institutional model of care used at Murray and other SODCs is outmoded and does not give individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities the ability to make quality choices and exercise preferences that are consistent with their individual needs. The notion that some people can never live in the community is a myth that the experience in this and many other states has dispelled. With the appropriate supports and services, all people with disabilities, including those with the most significant disabilities, can live successfully in the community.

The time for action is now!

Please let the members of COGFA know – before May 1st – that you support the closure of Murray DC and urge them to vote in favor of closure. If you are a constituent of a COGFA member, be sure to let the member know that when you call or write.

The names and contact information for COGFA members are provided below:

Senator Jeffrey M. Schoenberg (Senate Co–Chair) Springfield Office:
Senator 9th District
317 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782–2119
(217) 782–0715 FAX

Representative Patricia R. Bellock (House Co–Chair) Springfield Office:
205–N Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782–1448
(217) 782–2289 FAX

Senator Michael W. Frerichs
Springfield Office:
Senator 52nd District
118 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782–2507
(217) 782–2331 FAX

Senator Matt Murphy
Springfield Office:
Senator 27th District
303 D Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782–4471
(217) 782–7818 FAX

Senator Suzi Schmidt
Springfield Office:
Senator 31st District
103D Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782–7353
(217) 782–4079 FAX

Senator Dave Syverson
Springfield Office:
Senator 34th District
M103D Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782–5413
(217) 782–9586 FAX

Senator Donne E. Trotter
Springfield Office:
Senator 17th District
627 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782–3201
(217) 782–8201 FAX

Representative Elaine Nekritz
Springfield Office:
256–W Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 558–1004
(217) 558–4554 FAX

Representative Raymond Poe
Springfield Office:
E–1 Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782–0044
(217) 782–0897 FAX

Representative Al Riley
Springfield Office:
260–W Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 558–1007
(217) 557–1664 FAX

Thank you for your efforts!

Cheryl R. Jansen
Legislative Director
Equip for Equality


  1. Bob Wow, 13 other states does not a majority make. I guess we're all entitled to our opinions, but I live near the facility and know several parents/guardians and residents of WGMDC and know for a fact that closing WGMDC is NOT what they want. Maybe more research on WGMDC and the support and services they offer would lead you to a more informed opinion.
You must be a member and signed-in to comment.